Navigate Up
Sign In

Conditions to Enter Malta


Third country nationals who wish to enter Malta and reside in Malta are able to do so under the following circumstances:

1.  Posses a valid Schengen visa, National visa or is a Third Country National entitled to a visa free regime
2.  Granted Resident Permit by another European Union Member State
3.  Granted a Resident Permit by Malta for a specific purpose

​The Central Visa Unit (CVU) is responsible for:

  • The monitoring of the visa process
  • Ensures that the application of the ‘Common Consular Instructions on Visas’ is properly applied in all of Malta’s diplomatic missions and consular posts
  • Consultation/s with central authorities of other Schengen Member States through the Schengen consultation network - VISION
  • The training of Malta’s Consular Staff
  • The preparation of Training Manuals for MFA Consular Staff

As Malta’s central authority, the CVU is equipped to forward and process visa requests rapidly, via the Visa Management System, which together with the networking facilitation between all of Malta’s diplomatic missions and consular posts, plays a vital role in the acceleration of application and authorisation procedures.

Schengen Area

The Schengen provisions abolish checks at the Union's internal borders, whilst tightening controls at the external borders, in accordance with a single set of rules. Here common rules and procedures are applied with regard to visas for short-stays.
There are 26 Schengen States:
Schengen States are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.
Thus you can cross the internal state borders of individual Member States without undergoing any border or customs control. It also means that you can enter Malta through another Schengen state without the necessity to arrange a transit visa.

Visa Free

If you are a national of one of the following countries, you can travel to Malta based on a valid travel document and stay without a visa for a maximum period of 90 days over a period of 180 days.
These countries are: Albania (holders of biometric passports only), Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina (holders of biometric passports only), Brazil, Brunei Darussalam,  Montenegro (holders of biometric passports only), Guatemala, Netherlands Antilles, Honduras, Hong Kong S.A.R. (Special Administrative Regions of the People’s Republic of China), Chile, Costa Rica, Israel, Japan, Canada, Republic of Korea (South Korea), Costa Rica, Macao S.A.R., Moldova, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, El Salvador, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, United States of America, Serbia (holders of biometric passports only), St Kitts and Nevis, Switzerland, Uruguay, Taiwan (holders of a passport containing identification card number), Vatican City (Holy See) and Venezuela.

Schengen Visa

If you are a national that is not under a visa-free regime, then it is necessary to apply for a Schengen Visa. These visas allow the holder to transit through or remain in the territory of Malta and all other Schengen Member States for a maximum period of three months (90 days) within a period of six months (180 days) from the entry date into the Schengen area.

National Visa

A national visa is issued under similar conditions as a Schengen visa. The national visa application is submitted at the diplomatic mission of the Malta accredited for the country of your citizenship or of your residence.

Last updated on June 2014.
​How To Apply
 Contact Name
Central Visa Unit
Pjazza San Kalcidonju
Floriana FRN 1530

+356 22042310